The nomination of new members and consultors at the Pontifical Council for the Laity


6 February 2014 – The Holy See Press Office News Bulletin announced today that Pope Francis has confirmed as president of the Pontifical Council for the Laity, Cardinal Stanisław RYŁKO, and as secretary, Bishop Josef CLEMENS.

The Holy Father also appointed new members and consultors for the Pontifical Council for the Laity.

He appointed as members of the Pontifical Council for the Laity: Cardinal Christoph SCHÖNBORN, Archbishop of Vienna (Austria); Cardinal Angelo SCOLA, Archbishop of Milan (Italy); Cardinal John NJUE, Archbishop of Nairobi (Kenya); Cardinal Reinhard MARX, Archbishop of München und Freising (Germany); Cardinal Willem Jacobus EIJK, Archbishop of Utrecht (The Netherlands); Cardinal Luis Antonio G. TAGLE, Archbishop of Manila (The Philippines); Cardinal João Braz de AVIZ, Prefect of the Congregation for Institutes of Consecrated Life and Societies of Apostolic Life; Most Reverend Charles Joseph CHAPUT, Archbishop of Philadelphia (The United States); Most Reverend Orani João TEMPESTA, O. Cist., Archbishop of São Sebastião do Rio de Janeiro (Brazil); Yago DE LA CIERVA(Spain), lecturer in Crisis Management and Communication at the Faculty of Social Institutional Communications of the Pontifical University of the Holy Cross in Rome; Irene EGLE LAUMENSKAITE, lecturer at the Centre for Religious Studies and Research at the University of Vilnius (Lithuania); Fabrice HADJADJ, director of the Institut Européen d'Études Anthropologiques Philanthropos in Fribourg (Switzerland); Jocelyne KHOUEIRY, founder of the associations La Libanaise-Femme du 31 mai and Oui à la vie (Lebanon); Franco MIANO, national president of Catholic Action in Italy; Geneviève Amélie Mathilde SANZE (Central African Republic), representative for Africa on the International Secretariat of Economy of Communion.

The following were appointed as consultors: Most Reverend Alberto TAVEIRA CORRÊA, Archbishop of Belém do Pará (Brazil); Most Reverend Filippo SANTORO, Archbishop of Taranto (Italy); Most Reverend Anders ARBORELIUS, O.C.D., Bishop of Stockholm (Sweden); Most Reverend Dominique REY, Bishop of Fréjus-Toulon (France); Most Reverend Christoph HEGGE, Titular Bishop of Sicilibba, Auxiliary Bishop of Münster (Germany); Rev. Arturo CATTANEO, professor at the St. Pius X Canon Law Faculty of Venice (Italy); Fra Hans STAPEL, O.F.M., founder and president of the International Association of the Faithful Family of Hope (Brazil); Alejandra KEEN VON WUTHENAU, superior general of the Marian Fraternity of Reconciliation (Peru); Laurent LANDETE, Moderator of the Emanuel Community (France); Mimmo MUOLO, journalist for the daily newspaper Avvenire (Italy); Marguerite A. PEETERS (The United States), Director of the Institute for Intercultural Dialogue Dynamics (Belgium); Silvia RECCHI (Italy), Italian professor of canon law at the Catholic University of Central Africa in Yaounde (Cameroon); Maite URIBE BILBAO (El Salvador), President of the Teresian Association.

The Pontifical Council for the Laity is now constituted as follows:


Card. Josip Bozanić

Card. João Braz de Aviz

Card. Paolo Romeo

Card. Stanisław Dziwisz

Card. Willem Jacobus Eijk

Card. Reinhard Marx

Card. John Njue

Card. Robert Sarah

Card. Christoph Schönborn, O.P.

Card. Angelo Scola

Card. Lluís Martínez Sistach

Card. Luis Antonio Tagle

Archbishop Charles Joseph Chaput, O.F.M. Cap.

Archbishop Orani João Tempesta, O. Cist.

Prof. Carl A. Anderson

Saïd A. Azer

Marcello Bedeschi

Tanios Chahwan

Pilar Escudero de Jensen

Yago de la Cierva

Jocelyne Khoueiry

Christiana Habsburg-Lothringen

Fabrice Hadjadj

Katarina Hulmanova

Irene Egle Laumenskaite

Yuk-fai Rosa Lai

Manfred Lütz

Franco Miano

Prof. Josep Miró i Ardèvol

Michelle Moran

Prof. Norbert Müller

Geneviève Amélie Mathilde Sanze

Guilherme Vaz

Prof. Karol Źyczkowski


Archbishop Józef Michalik

Msgr. Julián Carrón

Msgr. Libero Gerosa

Msgr. Luis Felipe Navarro Marfá

Bishop Anders Arborelius, O.C.D.

Bishop Christoph Hegge

Bishop Dominique Rey

Archbishop Filippo Santoro

Archbishop Alberto Taveira Corrêa

Rev. Arturo Cattaneo

Rev. P. Gianfranco Ghirlanda, S.I.

Alejandra Keen von Wuthenau

Laurent Landete

Domenico Muolo

Marguerite A. Peeters

Prof. Silvia Recchi

Fra Hans Stapel, O.F.M.

Maite Uribe Bilbao

Prof. Helen M. Alvaré

Moysés Louro de Azevedo Filho

Prof. Giorgio Feliciani

Francisco José Gómez de Argüello Wirtz

Salvatore Martinez

Prof. Andrea Riccardi

Maria Emmaus Voce


The staff of the Pontifical Council for the Laity congratulate Cardinal Rylko and Bishop Clemens on the confirmation they have received from the Holy Father. It demonstrates the Pope’s esteem and appreciation for their dedication and commitment in the service of the laity.

© Copyright 2011-2015  Pontifical Council for the Laity | Site Map | Links | Contact us